The District of Darrang was created with effect from July'1983 by converting the erstwhile Sub-Division of Mangaldai vide Govt notification number GAG 213/83/1 dated 14.06.1983 (Present Darrang District + Udalguri District). Again Govement of Assam vide notification number GAG(B)/2002/Pt/117 dated 30.09.2003 and subsequent notification vide number GAG(B)137/2008/Pt/536 dated 14.05.2004 created new District under BTAD with villages of nothern part of Darrang District and Present Darrang District was reorganized with 565 villages.

        The name Darrang was derived from the Bodo word Dourang, which means 'Lilabhumi' (Playground) of Gods. According to Scholar Late Dineswar Sarma, the word Darrang came from Dawrang which means 'Gateway', as there was direct entry to Bhutan and from there to Nepal, China etc. Gradually this was known as Darrang consisted of a large area, i.e., at present created / reorganized into 6 subdivisions namely : 1.Bhergaon 2.Udalguri(S) 3.Mangaldai(S) 4.Tezpur(S) 5.Gahpur 6. Biswanath Chariali.

        Darrang consists of a narrow strip of plain lying between Himalayas and Brahmaputra river in the north-west part of Assam. The land which is now known as Darrang district was included in the Hindu Kingdom of Kamrupa as mentioned in Mahabharata. Its antiquity dates back to the beginning of the sixteenth century when the Koch King Nar Narayan incorporated this district in his Kingdom. In 1637, the Ahom Kingdom was established in the land after the death of the then Koch King Bali Narayana. In 1792, Darrang Raja was defeated by an expeditionary force under the command of Captain Welsh and in 1826, Darrang with rest of Assam passed under the British rule.

         Presently the District in general is considered to be plain. On the north and east side there exist the Udalguri District  and mighty Brahmaputra flows along the southern boundary of the district .The District Kamrum(R) is in the west. The main tributaries of Brahmaputra in this district are Barnadi, Nowanai, Mangaldai and Dhansiri. The forests within the district provide good amount of timber to the timber units.

         The climate of the district is congenial. In the winter, the northern part of the district is colder than the rest of the district since it is covered by hills and forests of Udalguri District. The average temperature ranges from 10o to 30o C. Average annual rainfall is about 2120 mm.

         The soil of this district is very fertile for cultivation and the main crops are paddy, oilseeds, sugarcane and jute. The area is also known for its considerable tea productions. The main horticultural products are orange, coconut, pineapple etc. In addition, the district is rich with sizeable production of vegetables.

          The village Patharughat of this district is famous for the historic Agrarian agitation of 1894, when firing by British administration claimed lives of 15 villagers were killed and 37 villagers were injured, while they were in protest against the enhancement of land revenue and imposition of local taxes. However, other sources claimed that as many as 140 farmers embraced martyrdom and 150 were wounded in that incident. Prag Bosimi Synthetics Limited, a joint sector undertaking of Government of Assam and Bombay Silk Mill with foreign collaboration is also an important asset of the District.

         Darrang is not connected by rail but has a good network of road transport system. The nearest airport is at Barjhar near Guwahati.



The district is situated in the central part of Assam and on the Northern side of the river Mighty Brahmaputra. The district is bounded by Arunachal Pradesh (State) and Bhutan ( Country) and Udalguri district in the North. The river Brahmaputra flows in the South. The district Sonitpur and Kamrup districts are in the East and West respectively.


20o9'N to 26o95'N and  91o45' E to 92o22' E

Distance from State Capital

68 kms.


The Climate of the district is humid and congenial. 

Relative Humidity

Around 82 %

Annual Rainfall 

1500 mm. to 2600 mm


 9,08,090 Total, 8,52,692 in Rural and 55,398 in Urban area.  (as per 2011 Census)

Population Density

 491 per sq. km.

Sex ratio ( Nos of female per 1000 male)   923

64.55% (As per 2011 Census)


One (1) Sub-division i.e., Mangaldai Sadar

Revenue Circle

RC 4 Nos., RC (Part )=2 (Total=6)


5 Nos., Part=1 (Total=6)

HPC  1  No

4 Nos.

Police Out post

5 Nos.

Police Stations

6 Nos.


18  Nos.

Number of Anchalik Panchayat  6 Nos
Number of Zila Parishad  1 No
Gaon Panchayats

75 Nos.

Revenue Villages

563 Nos.

Tea Gardens

4 Nos.(Tangni, Chikanmati, Bargara,Kopati (Pt)  )

Municipal Boards

1 No (Mangaldai Municipal Board)

Town Committees

1 No. (Kharupetia Town Committee)

Total Area

1850.58  sq. km..

Cultivated Area

153252 (Cropped area) Hect.

Irrigated Area

Karif-6500 Hect., Rabi-972 Hect., Pre Kharif-7881.000 Hect

Area under forest

Reserved Forest


Non-reserved Forest









9 Nos

Schools 1. Govt HSS-1 No
  2. Provincialised HSS-17 Nos
  3. Provincialised HS- 52 Nos.
  4. High Madrassa -2 Nos.
  5. Venture HS- 119 Nos.

6. Sanskrit Tol-5 Nos


Commercial Bank

6 Nos.

Nationalised Bank

5 Nos

Rural Bank

13 Nos